The Legendary Broadcasts 1960-1964 (CD)

SKU: N/A. Category:

share it

Product Description

£7.99 Delivered to the UK (Select your delivery destination above)


1. Omie Wise (Trad.) 4.01
2. Po’ Lazarus (Trad./Arr. Dylan) 4.47
3. Sally Gal (Dylan) 2.05
4. The Girl I Left Behind (Trad.) 4.14
5. The Death of Emmett Till (Dylan) 5.20
6. Hard Times in New York Town (Dylan) 2.27
7. Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Trad./Davis) 3.22
8. Talking John Birch Paranoid Blues (Dylan) 4.25
9. Make Me a Pallet on Your Floor (Trad.) 3.14
10. Blowin’ in the Wind (Dylan) 2.34
11. Man Of Constant Sorrow (Trad./Arr. Dylan) 3.06
12. Ballad of Hollis Brown (Dylan) 4.54
13. Bob Dylan’s Dream (Dylan) 3.34
14. Boots of Spanish Leather (Dylan) 4.45
15. Talkin’ World War III Blues (Dylan) 4.56
16. The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll (Dylan) 5.24
17. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall (Dylan) 6.01
18. Girl from the North Country (Dylan) 3.20
19. Restless Farewell (Dylan) 5.03

Opening two songs, ‘Omie Wise’ and ‘Po’ Lazarus’ were performed as part of a twelve-hour “Hootenanny” held at the Riverside Church, New York City. ‘Baby Let Me Follow You Down’, ‘Talking John Birch Paranoid Blues’ and ‘Make Me a Pallet On Your Floor’ come from the Billy Faier Show, a radio programme broadcast on WBAI-FM in New York City in October 1962. This show is particularly interesting because it contains the only known performance by Dylan of the traditional song ‘Make Me a Pallet on Your Floor’.

Of the other two songs, the traditional ‘Baby Let Me Follow You Down’ had been released on Dylan’s first LP, whilst ‘Talking John Birch Paranoid Blues’ would be recorded for Bob’s “Freewheelin’” album. For reasons never fully established, however, the album was quickly recalled and several songs, including ‘Talking John Birch Paranoid Blues’, were substituted making the original album release a choice and extremely valuable collectors’ item. Our next three tracks are from a rare recording of the March 1963 television show, “Folk Songs and More Folk Songs”, which was recorded in Westinghouse Television Studios, New York City and hosted by John Henry Faulk.

Bob Dylan performed one song from each of his first three albums: ‘Blowin’ in the Wind’ (“The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan”), ‘Man of Constant Sorrow’ (“Bob Dylan”) and ‘Ballad of Hollis Brown’ (“The Times They Are A-Changin’”). Our next selections come from a 1963 radio broadcast of “The Studs Terkel Program”.

Next we have five songs from another rare television performance, “Quest”. Broadcast on March 10, 1964 by the Canadian Broadcasting.

Additional information

Deliver To

UK (Price includes post), Europe (Price includes post), USA/ROW (Price includes post)