Humdinger Folk Singer

SKU: N/A. Categories: , Tags: ,

share it

Product Description

Was £8.99 Now Only £4.99 Delivered to the UK (Select your delivery destination above)


Published by ISIS Magazine, “Humdinger Folk Singer: The Story of Judas and the Communists” is the third in a trilogy of booklets by ISIS editor Derek Barker, the previous two being “As The Island Slowly Sank” (2014) and “A Picnic Surprise” (2015). “Humdinger Folk Singer” begins by examining the folk revivals in the United States and Britain and their associations with the Left and Communism. The booklet turns the spotlight on two of the principal British folk figures of the time, A. L. Lloyd and Ewan MacColl, and at the beginnings of folk clubs in Britain including the introduction of the controversial ‘Policy Rules’ on which some of those clubs were founded. The booklet then looks at Bob Dylan’s first visit to England in 1962-63 and his appearance at MacColl’s traditional Singers Club. We then follow Dylan’s 1965-66 world tour which culminates with the most famous heckle in the history of popular music– the Judas shout. Along the way read what the press had to say about the tour and also hear from concert attendees, folk singers and folk club members alike.

Additional information

Deliver To

UK (Price includes post), Europe (Price includes post), USA/ROW (Price includes post)