Neil Young – Under The Covers (CD)

SKU: N/A. Categories: ,

share it

Product Description

Was £7.99 Now £6.99 Delivered to the UK (Select your delivery destination above)

1. Do You Wanna Dance? (with The Shocking Pinks) 4:29
2. It Might Have Been (with Crazy Horse) 2:51
3. Beggars Day 5:17
4. (Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay (with Booker T. & The MGs) 5:22
5. Everything Is Broken (with Tom Petty) 3:50
6. Forever Young (with The Grateful Dead) 6:46
7. Farmer John 3:08
8. Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues (with Booker T. & The MGs) 5:41
9. Four Strong Winds 5:47
10. Hungry Heart (with Bruce Springsteen and Crosby, Stills & Nash) 4:07
11. Greensleeves 4:26
12. Oh Lonesome Me (with Crazy Horse) 3:40
13. All Along The Watchtower (with Booker T. & The MGs) 5:11
14. Stranger In Paradise 3:23
15. That’s Alright Mama (with The Shocking Pinks) 2:18
16. On Broadway (with The Restless) 5:24


While Neil Young remains, arguably, the finest composer of the singer-songwriter generation, he has never been shy in revealing the musicians and songwriters from Whom he took most inspiration and by whom he was most reliably informed.

It’s no secret therefore that Young has always remained a huge Bob Dylan fan, and while, like Bob, Neil performs most readily his own music, when he does choose a cover to perform, there’s a good chance it will be one of Dylan’s.

Likewise, he remains greatly inspired still by his folk-club beginnings on the Canadian folk scene, and thus his favourite tune from those days – ‘Four Strong Winds’ by Ian & Sylvia – remains another popular choice to play on occasion.

Young is however equally spontaneous and changes his genre of choice with regularity, exploring country music one year, rockabilly another and R&B the next – with a dose of computer generated sonic experimentation thrown in for good measure. Thus we have heard versions of Otis Redding’s ‘(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay’, Elvis’ ‘That’s All Right Mama’ and Don Gibson’s ‘Oh Lonesome Me’, all rubbing shoulders with Young originals at one time or another during the great man’s live career.

This CD collects together 16 startlingly original non-originals performed by Neil Young, taken from various FM broadcasts of live concerts recorded between 1970 and 1993.

Additional information

Deliver To

UK (Price includes post), Europe (Price includes post), USA/ROW (Price includes post)